How to Create and Edit Folder in Salesforce

How to Create and Edit Folder in Salesforce

Large companies and organizations have several data, dashboards, and reports all stored inside the Salesforce platform. To help users manage these large amounts of data properly, Salesforce lets them store these data in folders that can be easily managed and used whenever it is needed.

What are Folders?

Like the usual filing tool used in everyday office works, a Salesforce folder holds important reports, dashboards, and data found on the company’s Salesforce org. Access, content, and modification of these folders can be controlled by the Salesforce admins.

Creating a New Salesforce Folder

Start organizing the org’s data collections by creating folders to place them in. Here are some simple steps to follow in making a new folder.

  • Open the Salesforce Site.com Studio.
  • Click on the Overview tab.
  • Hit the All Site Content view under the Type Site list.
  • Click on Create New Folder.
  • Enter the new folder’s name.
  • Hit Create.

The new folder is now created and can be found on the folder tree’s topmost level. Simply drag and drop the desired files to the new folder. Drag the folder anywhere on the folder tree as desired.

Editing a Salesforce Folder

Existing Salesforce folders can be edited to suit the needs and preferences of its users. To change folder settings, follow these steps:

  • Enter a page that mostly lists folders. Alternatively, go to the Documents tab to view and access document folders.
  • Select the folder that needs editing and click Edit. Or, go to the folder drop-down list, select the needed folder, and click on Edit.
  • Change the folder settings, as appropriate. Here are some settings that can be edited:
    • Specify a new folder label.
    • Set the Public Folder Access settings. Choose Read/Write so that org users can change the contents of the folder. Choose Read Only so users can only view the folders, but not touch its contents.
    • Set the folder’s visibility. It can be viewed by:
      • All users only
      • All users and portal Users
      • Hidden from all users
      • Accessible only to select users, which can be defined here as well.
  • Once done, save all new settings.

Leave a Reply

Close Menu