Call Us Today !

Salesforce Certification Guide: Overview and Career Paths

Salesforce carries such a vast range of technical information that a team of professionals is required to run the entire platform altogether. This reality creates a number of professional positions available for certain qualified people.

To become certified in any type of Salesforce role, you will need to pass certification standards. A quick view on the certification process and possible career paths will be discussed in this article.

Overview of the Salesforce Certification

Salesforce certification is viewed on a job role basis, contrary to the usual tiered roles of associate-professional-expert prevalent in other companies. The common job roles within the vast Salesforce ecosystem include the following:

  • Developers
  • Administrators
  • Consultants
  • CPQ Specialists
  • Architects
  • App Builders
  • Pardot Experts
  • Marketers

Salesforce conducts certification exams based on the job roles a candidate is applying for. The exams are typically multiple-choice format with 60 items. Duration of each exam ranges from 1 ½ -2 hours, depending on the nature of the job role. Exams for re-takers are also available.

Physical and online examinations can both be booked through Webassessor. Exam fees for most job roles may cost around $200, while Architect certifications cost $400. The highest Architect certification (Salesforce Certified Technical Architect) calls for a special Board Exam which may cost around $6,000.

Certification can be completed at your own pace, since it does not require any strict formal training. However, you can increase your chances passing the certification exams through various online training materials in the Salesforce University (found in the Salesforce website).

Once a candidate passes the certification, he can become a subject matter expert and command higher marketability in the Salesforce ecosystem.

Career Paths

Here are some examples of the career paths you may choose to take within the Salesforce organization:

  • Administrator Job Role

Professionals focus on administrative duties within a Salesforce organization, such as defining user roles and uniquely shaping the platform according to the business needs of an org.

    • Certified Administrator
    • Certified Advanced Administrator
  • App Builder Job Role

Professionals who conceptualize, create, and implement customized applications on the Salesforce platform.

    • Certified Platform App Builder
  • Developer Job Role

Professionals who use the Commerce Cloud to create customer-oriented apps on

    • Certified Platform Developer I
    • Certified Platform Developer II
    • Certified Commerce Cloud Digital Developer
  • Architect Job Role

This is a vast job role comprised of three architectural tiers. They are responsible for system checks, integration with third-party systems, and creation of highly-specialized technical solutions according to customer requirements.

    • Architecture Designers
    • Technical Architects
    • Domain Architects

Salesforce still has many more job roles in which credentialing is essential. The complete certification guide and job role descriptions can be found on the Salesforce website.


Credentials are a must if you are looking to step up your skill set in the Salesforce world. There is a plethora of job roles available to anyone seeking employment or skills enhancement within the Salesforce organization.

Online study is beneficial to passing the credentialing examinations. Once you get credentialed, you’ll be considered a subject matter expert and will become an invaluable asset to the Salesforce organization.

Share this article!

Partager sur facebook
Partager sur twitter
Partager sur linkedin
Partager sur email